Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:10 p.m. - 2002-10-28
just absolutely fucking ghastly darling
An email: "Myself, Alison, Ant & Jen have booked an old, very old (1200) Land Mark Trust building called Wood Spring Priory near Western Supermare for a long weekend. Starting on the 10th of Jan (Friday) and finishing on the 12th (Sunday).

We would like you, being Steve & Lou, Chris & Kerry to join us for the weekend if you are free. The plan would be to take the Friday and Monday off work to allow for travelling and recovery. The cost is a mere �88 per person + travel +food + booze - I will be driving as well as Ant or now Jen (big congrats!)

The property boasts: Built in Church - therefore must be haunted

Massive real fire which you can sit in and see the stars

4 bedrooms - mixture of twin and double beds

Good country walks

etc etc

We can also take two dogs - any ideas?

If you can make it for the weekend please let myself or one of the gang know ASAP. Smoking jackets and red wine are compulsory!"

So this is what I've been "roped" into. Not really, I said "okay, let's go", because Chris wants to go and I don't want to be that annoying girlfriend who stops him doing stuff (and it's a couply thing so he can't really go on his own). And the guy who sent this email, the one who's organising it all? Is a twat. A real "competitive dad" "rah rah rah, let's pretend we're all upper class toffs! oh no, that's right! i am an upper class toff and the rest of you are just plebs! rah rah rah!"

It would be a pretty cool weekend away if the people I was going with were any fun. Let's see who we've got:

Steve S- see above

Alison - twat's rather sweet girlfriend. Naive welsh lass who I want to tell "your boyfriend groped my friend in her sleep"

Anthony - large bumbling eating machine who likes cheese and port

Jen - his weirdly semi-gothic girlfriend who once sent me to sleep talking about the dissertation she wrote several years ago.

Steve T - he's alright actually

Lou - Steve T's wife. She's alright too.

The reason this mock-Scooby gang came together? All the guys and I used to work together at Stream. In fact, if you go to the Stream website you'll prolly see a pic of the back of twat's head. Then, I dunno, all the guys thought it would be great to get all their girlies together and we could be some hideous gang. Last December I had to endure "early Christmas" with this lot. Plus they seem to bring out a side of boo that I like a bit less as well - he takes on the role of group comedian and goes into character as an old Indian raj, talking about shooting tiger in the style of the "i was very, very drunk" bloke off The Fast Show.

Oh god, it's just all hideous, and it's costing me about �100 and two days holiday.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!