Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:41 a.m. - 2003-04-16
books, and an invitation!
I'm on a reading roll at the moment - I sped through Tipping The Velvet (thanks Ellie!) and last night finished The War Zone which was kind of the antithesis to the former. Anyone else read these? What did you think? FWIW I thought TTV was fantastic fun, a right royal romp of a book, which made me blush to read it on the bus at times. (Not really, but if I was the kind of person to blush, then, you know, I would have done). I had seen the last 45 minutes or so of the dramatisation on TV so I had pictures in my head of all the actresses in it, but I still formed images of all the places and secondary characters which brought the whole thing to life like I was an innocent bystander or something.

The War Zone was something else. I picked it up in a 2nd hand bookshop at the weekend and it said "Catcher in the Rye for the nineties" on the front so I thought it would be worth a read. And it was, it's stunningly written, evocative, graphic, bleak, shocking. I won't spoil it in case you want to read it, and you should, but not if you're on a downer.

Next up, Maya Angelou's I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings.

Oh and yesterday all my furniture got delivered! My brother in law sat in for me, and when I got home last night, me Charlie and C got handy with the cordless drill, screwdrivers and hammers and constructed a wardrobe, chest of drawers and bed. My room looks fab now! I also got a massive overmantal mirror, which I unashamedly sit in front of and gaze into, and a cream voile (how do you do accents?) light shade, so now I have things in drawers and not in cardboard boxes which is infinitely preferable.

Oh! And we're having a party! A fancy dress party! On the 26th April! Which means I get to wear the costume which has been sitting in a small bag since Halloween 2001! It's gonna be a kick-ass, make new friends, get pissed and fight for toilet-vomit space, find knickers in the fridge the next day kinda party. Wanna come? ;o)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!