Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:23 p.m. - 2003-05-06
Al Pacino?
I think I did quite well for a kidney infection really - I mean, yeah I had to wee every ten minutes and drink 10 million gallons of water, but the pain wasn't so bad as I heard other people have experienced. So Friday was spent in bed all day, although by evening I was bored senseless and convinced that going out to the pub to meet C and his old work gang was a good idea. So I cranked up the stereo, pranced about the bedroom putting make up on and getting dressed up before heading to Carnaby Street.

Getting ready was far more fun than being there. I don't know if it's because I've aged or what, but being in a pub has lost all it's appeal to me. It's smokey, there's not always somewhere to sit, you have to shout to be heard, you have to queue up to get a drink... It's not the same as it was when I was 17, when going to the same pub every Friday night was a ritual more central to forming relationships, trying to be cool, showing off the clothes you couldn't wear to school and stuff. Mind you, the number of times I ended up walking alone through the streets of Bruton crying because my friends didn't notice if I was there or not makes me think perhaps going to the pub has never ever been any fun for me.

But getting ready whilst doing grindy hips to Dirrty is fun; looking so fucking hot you know you could pull if that was what you wanted, the anticipation of something that could be good is better than the event itself.

On Sunday I ended up going to my aunt's 50th birthday party in Guildford after some arm bending by mum. It was quite fun - I got to be the cool cousin who knew about computer games for my little cousin Sebastian, who had me stand guard while he put itching powder in his sister's bed, my brother in law sat in said auntie's new deckchair and broke it, my aunt is a foster mum so there were lots of babies to coo over, including a littl'un called Jade who is only 4 months old and had to be weaned off heroin when she was born. My cousin's baby Mabel is hella cute, with tufty blonde pigtails and a good set of lungs and hilarious facial expressions. All in all, as family do's go, it was fine.

On Sunday evening, after a whole 8 hours apart, C and I decided we needed a naughty evening to ourselves. This involved taking drugs (I know, I know, I know....) and sitting up late talking and kissing and just generally having a bit of time dedicated to us. It was fab, I told him all the stuff that had been on my mind, all the small things that had niggled in a dark corner of my head and suddenly we were back to that old closeness, that feeling of being connected, bound together, of being in love again and not just taking part in the same routine. We're also going to set up a joint bank account for fun stuff, holidays and, eventually, a deposit on somewhere to live. You know that big smile I do where you can see all my teeth? Imagine that now.

So of course yesterday we didn't even wake up until midday and I basically fucked up plans (I'm sorry Ellie :o(). We did a little food shopping and then I spent the evening being asleep until Jamie and his girlfriend Whit came over to C's in the evening for a meal and to watch X-Men before we go and see X-Men 2 on Wednesday evening. Whit is lovely, I'd never met her before and couldn't even form an idea of what she might be like. She's American, with a lovely southern accent. She wears nice trainers and is warm and friendly. I like her. After X-Men we watched the end of the 100 Greatest Movie Stars which was okay except there were shamefully few women in the Top 20 and hello, Al Pacino as the greatest movie star ever? Nah. I mean he's okay, but the greatest ever? No. Although having said that I'm not sure who I'd put at number 1 if it was up to me.

Today I am back at work with a to do list as long as my hair and a 4 day week ahead of me. Next week I'm away on a residential psychometric testing training course so I'd better crack on.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!