Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

14:11 - May. 19, 2003
pears and things
Being back at work is a bit of a reality check... my week of training was so nice in comparison! Still, c'est la vie and all that. Next step is persuading my bosses to pay for me to get my CIPD perhaps. The courses start in September so it might be worth a shot, and will make my work a whole lot more credible.

Anyway. What else? Hmm, yes, once again I've sworn off all illegal substances. It's transpired that my flatmate's boyfriend used to be a drug dealer, which has ruffled a few feathers in the flat. Charlie is horrified and, even though this is something from this guy's past, thinks he must obviously still associate with "that type of people" and is therefore a druggy loser. For my part, I just don't like him because he's an arrogant prat, who upon hearing about my credit card fraud declared "It'll be one of your friends, and you'll have to pay at least a few hundred pounds for it" (because once, one of his friends nicked his card and he didn't bother to report it for 3 days blah blah blah). But I can hardly condemn him for his drugs connection can I? As Charlie sat on my bed telling me how much he despised druggy people, I was almost tempted to tell him, "umm, well then you should probably hate me too, i've taken x, y and z". But the thing is, he probably would. It probably would change his opinion of me and that makes me sad. For me, more than him. The paranoia I've experienced lately has affirmed that it's time for me to stop. Plus the imminent arrival of my niece or nephew is a fairly good deterrent.

Due to the three course meals I had every night last week I have put on weight. My hips are now so disproportionate to my boobs it's not funny. I don't care if the pear shape is classic, I'm not used to it and would prefer to be a bit more even.

I don't know what's happening with the credit card, but thanks for the nice entries in my guestbook. It's not so much the money I'm worried about, I know I probably won't be liable for it, but I was talking to one of C's friends on Saturday night who was telling me his hacker friend had showed him how easy it was to get people's personal information off the internet. The thing that's freaked me out, and made me horrible suspicious (not of you, girls don't cry, don't worry!) is thinking over every time I've used my card and wondering what else that mo'fo knows about me. It's entirely possible they read this diary, for instance... Could they also have my NI number? My passport details? My address? I feel compromised and that makes my clutch my handbag that little bit tighter in the street or the supermarket. So the cost of credit card fraud isn't really swallowed up by the credit card companies alone, is it?

Tonight I'm going to go swimming to even out that pear shape if possible.

Tomorrow I'm going to see Ellie and make up for her birthday card not arriving on time.

On Wednesday I don't have plans.

On Thursday I'll probably see my sister and brother in law to give him a birthday present.

On Friday C and I are going out for his friend's 30th birthday.

On Saturday we are going to my friend G's house for a get together barbeque with my old girly gang and partners. Apart from the cost of the train, that will be sweet!

Then it's off to Exeter to see C's dad, and, joy of joys, another bank holiday Monday after that.

That was probably more detail than you wanted to know, but I wanted to get my week straight in my head. :-)

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!