Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

13:41 - Jun. 02, 2003
sunny weekend
I had a lovely weekend. On Saturday I helped my sister with life laundry style sorting out of bedroom (she had too many belts, gloves, shoes, bags and, bizarrely, white sports socks) so I made her throw loads away and make a bag to take to the charity shop. Then I moved her living room round which was possibly the daftest thing to do on what might have been the hottest day of the year... and even though it wasn't quite right when I'd finished, the furniture was too heavy for me to put back so it stayed that way.

Saturday evening me and Charlie defrosted the freezer and threw a bowlful of ice lumps out of the kitchen window.

On Sunday me and Ellie went to Spitalfields market. I'd not been there for years and we took a bit of a detour to find it, but it was such a lovely day, and El looked amazing it didn't matter. I dared her to ask a man with "Every item �5!!" signs all over his stall how much something was. So she pointed to a horse's head and asked the man... we fell about laughing when he pointed to the sign above his head and off down the street we went, laughing at horrible clothes and admiring the cheapy fake trainers. Then we got to the proper indoor bit and my god... there was fab stuff everywhere - cool tops, dangly light shades, fantastic prints (including one stall of all American prints which nearly made me wet my knickers), knickers with a cool rude pic of a woman sitting on a man's face whilst drinking a cup of tea... just loads of cool things. We both bought this wicked 4 frame camera which makes prints with 4 pictures, taken in really quick succession on the same frame. Hard to describe... I'll have to get some developed and post them up here.
Better yet, here's a pic of what IT looks like

And I bought a luurvely baggy top with little angels / fairies on in pink, light pink and silver. This is it

Then we wandered up through Brick Lane, past the people selling anything they could find on the pavement ("They're his shoes!" one woman cried as her husband started looking at one hot footed vendor's shoes). We had beers and olives in a foreign feeling cafe bar and then walked in the rain back to Liverpool Street before getting the bus back to Oxford Street.

I helpfully informed a passer by that I hadn't played my solo banjo for a long time as El and I made our way to my favourite "adult" shop in Soho and purchased an Ultra 7. Oh my god is all I have to say on that topic.

Hmpf, big bad mean boss is around so I'm going to save this before he comes over and starts flaffing around, forcing me to surreptitiously close and lose the whole entry.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!