Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

13:14 - Oct. 22, 2003
the last 24 hours
What a funny 24 hours... First the bad stuff.

C got hit last night by a drunken homeless man. He was running to meet us at the cinema and this guy ran in his way, so C backed off and then ran around him to meet us as he was late. This guy ran after him, and whacked him one. Due to some confusion, we only realised something was going on at this point and I emerged on the scene to ask what was going on. This guy's response to me?

"Yeah that's right, you whites always stick together"

Something inside me erupted. I screamed "What did you say?" in my most angry tones but the man walked off, leaving his fellow special-brew drinking friends behind him stressing to us, as we called the police

"He's under the mennal'elf act".

Random acts of violence... isn't London unpredictable?

Anyway, onto the good stuff! Since emailing my friends and colleagues about my sponsored bungee jump yesterday, I have raised about �500!! Some people have pledged �100 each, some have offered more than I know they can afford, 2 people have even offered to do the jump as well, so there'd be 4 of us raising funds. I've had messages with ideas of natural treatments, kind words of support and real spirit-lifting messages. The ball has started rolling and now the ideas are just flowing. I'm going to sell stuff on ebay, C and I are going to use our domain names as sponsor sites and it's even crossed my mind to do it in a bikini as I've been offered more money that way!!

It's been quite overwhelming and it feels really exciting to be doing, for the first time in my life, something that feels like it will make a difference, something positive and practical. My friends have proved themselves in ways I couldn't have asked for and god knows, that's the kind of support that means the most.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!